

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Nov. 28, 2018

Senator Joe Schiavoni and Attorney Gloria Allred Call for Eliminating Statute of Limitations on Rape in Ohio



Survivor and OSU whistleblower Michael DiSabato, state Senator Joe Schiavoni, attorney Gloria Allred and survivor Elizabeth Joy take part in press conference to advocate for sex abuse victims

COLUMBUS—At a press conference today, state Senator Joe Schiavoni (D-Boardman) was joined by attorney and human rights advocate Gloria Allred and sexual assault victims to call

for increased protections for victims of sex crimes in Ohio.

"Lawmakers shouldn't put an artificial limit on when they think is the right time for a survivor of rape to come forward. Especially because these survivors have dealt with situations that most of us don't understand," said Senator Schiavoni. "There's no statute of limitations on murder and there shouldn't be a statute of limitations on rape."

Senate Bill 339 would eliminate the statute of limitations for criminal and civil prosecution related to cases of rape. Ohio's current criminal statute of limitations is 25 years. The current civil statute of limitations for cases involving bodily injury is two years.

"We must think about who is helped and who is hurt by an arbitrary time limit statute of limitations," said Ms. Allred. "There should no longer be a time limit on justice for victims of rape and sexual assault. If this bill is passed in Ohio, statutes of limitations no longer will be the sexual predator's best friend and a victim's worst enemy."

Also attending the press conference were Michael DiSabato, survivor and whistleblower of OSU sex abuse crimes and Elizabeth Joy, survivor of sexual abuse and Executive Director of Survivors to Alivers.

Joining Senator Schiavoni as co-sponsors of SB 339 are state Senators Charleta B. Tavares (D-Columbus), Cecil Thomas (D-Cincinnati), Kenny Yuko (D-Richmond Heights), Sandra Williams (D-Cleveland) and Sean J. O'Brien (D-Bazetta). The bill will soon be assigned to committee where it will await hearings.

For video of the press conference, click here.

Contacts:
Jen Wenk, APR
702.635.0995 cell/text
jenwenkpr@gmail.com

Chelsea Golterman 614.466.8285 Chelsea.Golterman@ohiosenate.gov